Ghost Posting from Costa Rica

So I’m in Costa Rica this week so you’re getting a queued post. Just so you know. Also, I just used “so” twice in the same sentence, which was not attractive.

I thought I was excited for senior year and all that, but really I’m just excited for orientation. You think I’m joking but I’m not.

I’m at the pool a couple days a week, and literally the only people there are little kids and old people. And the trick to not having to share your lane is to act like you’re really bad at swimming, ‘cause old people don’t want to deal with your mediocre-ness. It’s not really acting for me though. I always swim diagonal instead of straight and then I crash into the barrier things. And I don’t do backstroke that much, but when I do, I always either bonk my head when I get to the wall, or think that I’m about to hit the wall when I’m actually only like halfway through the pool.

Okay, I’ll admit it: I watched Teen Beach Movie and liked it a lot more than I was supposed to. Sorry that I love musicals.

This guy. That is all. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gUOt3Lzo13U

Do you ever worry that people are going to read your journals when you’re dead and judge you? Just me? Okay. Not in a morbid way or anything, just like, someone’s going to have to decide what to do with them, and then wouldn’t they want to read them?

On the other hand, if historians find them in hundreds of years and use them a judge of our culture, that would be hella funny. ‘Cause they would be like, “Okay, so this is what a normal 16-year-old girl is like” when really I am not normal at all.  Actually they’ll probably just use Internet resources to learn about our culture. And kids will look at our primary source documents and be like, “Ew their HTML and fonts are so ugly” like how we look at old documents that are in cursive and yellowing and ripped and stuff.

There is some kind of weird stigma to being a 16-year-old girl. ‘Cause there are all these stereotypical characters in pop culture where the 16-year-old girl is whiny and doesn’t listen to anyone and has way too much drama and thinks she is really old and independent but in reality is just really dumb. She’s obsessive and has no boundaries or any idea about how life works. And it’s not like she’s going to be any different when she’s 17, but that attitude will always just be associated with “16-year-old-girl.” And okay, sometimes some of it is true, but it still sucks. I guess I should be grateful that this is a stereotype that I can eventually escape, unlike the all the other ones that everyone is stuck with forever. My point: Less than a month ‘til I’m 17.

All of the personal statement “tips” say to “write how you talk.” But I don’t think that would be a good idea because ifIactuallydidthatIwouldbasicallybewritinglikethis.

Hahahahahaha I talk really fast.

My Aeries is broken and I’m really worried that I’ll have to use the portal on the AHS website from now on. Which would suck. I know most people use that one anyway but I love my old Aeries.

My family has our own little language made up of random phrases and words taken out of movies and video games and stuff. But sometimes my mom forgets that not everyone knows this language, so she’s at my softball game and asks, “Are we chuck-chucking?” and no one has any idea what she’s talking about.

We were watching Lincoln the other day, and one of the dudes was like “I’m an engineer,” which wasn’t even supposed to be funny at all but for some reason everyone in my family started laughing. I swear sometimes we don’t even understand our own inside jokes.

We were driving home from my grandpa’s house and he gave us a bag of those reject fortune cookies that didn’t get folded before they hardened, so we were pulling them out one by one going all, “Aww, this guy almost made it!”

I love packing and I hate unpacking. I’m pretty sure this is standard, but I’m not sure if it has more to do with the fact that the associations of packing are better, or just the act of packing itself is more fun. Do you know what I mean?

Ikea. Is my favorite.

My mom said, “Nick Jonas is buff now. He did a selfie of himself.”

And then she said, “I saw all the hipsters at Starbucks.”

We have to meet at the school at 3:45 AM to go to the airport, so I was trying to figure out what to do for like five hours. And then I realized I could just watch this like a million times and then it was a lot shorter: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N1hiaRt3mOY

More to come from Costa Rica if I have Internet access.

One thought on “Ghost Posting from Costa Rica

  1. I love Ben Rector and I love Darren Criss and I think that we are actually slowly becoming the same person at this point… Like actually. I did not know that you listened to Ben Rector but he is really, really cool.

    Also orientation is on a Monday instead of a Tuesday this year because school starts a day earlier than usual and so we’ve got two Monday schedules, and then Block A and Block B. It’s weird. But it means that orientation is earlier than usual, so yaaaay.

    Omg I love your family. And Ikea. That is all.

    You need to tell me about Costa Rica when you get back, okay? Okay.

Leave a Reply

