Why I Love Irrationality

There are things that are not rational.

Maybe I just stole that from my handout on Existentialism, but I think that makes sense. Things don’t have to be rational numbers to be real. We learned that from math. And math is always right, even if it’s not rational. Because it’s real. Except when there are imaginary numbers.

Yeah, math.

But maybe that makes sense, too. Because math is the thing that’s supposed to always work out. You can’t argue with math. Except I can, because PEMDAS is a construction of society. I can decide that the new rule is DEMASP. And then I’ll get a different answer. And then my answer is wrong. But according to Existentialism, PEMDAS is arbitrary and I have the right to make my own decision. I can also decide that imaginary numbers are real, as long as I assume responsibility for my decision. And negative and positive numbers are named arbitrarily, as are all numbers for that matter, so I can decide that “seven” means two and say that I have seven hands and be right.

So you can argue with math, if you’re an Existentialist.

This is why you don’t teach me about philosophy.

Since I was like ten years old, I have been pondering whether or not we all see different colors and just call them the same thing. Like I look at an apple and it’s red, and you look at the apple, and you see what I call purple, but you call it red, so we’d never even know we were seeing different colors. And I still don’t know the answer. But if it really is true, even if we just see different tints instead of completely different colors, then Existentialism is kind of in our biology.

And you can’t argue with science. Unless you’re an Existentialist, and reject the notion that “science can and will make everything better.” Yeah.

I could keep rambling, but I think the only thing I’ve learned in the last 300 words is that Existentialism contradicts itself about a million times. Which is pretty funny, because Existentialism being a unified belief contradicts the Existentialist belief of not subscribing to a unified belief. Irony. Cool.

And the only thing that stands rue is that there are things that are not rational. Because the fact that there are thing that are not rational is not rational. So it confirms itself, over and over again.

I hate that there are things that are not rational, because I like it when things make sense, which you might not have gotten by reading this blog because I’m pretty sure none of things make sense. But I like to think about life in paths. I like to think that everything is connected in some way or another, and sometimes things line up with each other, and sometimes they don’t, but nevertheless they are still lines.

That’s not true though. Sometimes there are jump discontinuities, and sometimes there are infinite discontinuities. Yeah, more math.

I love that there are things that are not rational, because that would be boring. Rationality corrupts romanticism. And Existentialism. And like, every other school of thought. Because if everything were just lines, all of the geniuses in the world would have already figured life out, and then it would be like science class where you learn the science of life and how it works, and then we wouldn’t have English class, and then I would be sad.

Therefore, it is good that there are things that are not rational because it lets us have English class. The end.

One thought on “Why I Love Irrationality

  1. Oh my gosh yes I have always wondered the same thing about colors. And it’s weird, ’cause they’re these things that are set in stone by society for kids when they’re still in preschool, but colors are so arbitrary.
    It would be so convenient if life didn’t have any discontinuities in it. Also Existentialism sounds like it’s the greatest and I’m really jealous of your English class now.
    Irrationality is the greatest because it creates disagreement. And then people write books and we analyze them and disagree with them because everyone is irrational in different ways.

Leave a Reply

