Why I Love Irrationally

(You might think I’m pretty clever for titling the last blog “Why I Love Irrationality” and this blog “Why I Love Irrationally,” but really I didn’t plan this at all. See, what happened was that I went to check the blog and saw last blog’s title in the sidebar and read it wrong, and I was like “Hey, I don’t remember writing about that” and then I figured it out and was like “oh.” But then I thought about it some more and realized that they’re both very true. Cool story.)

I often write (ramble?) about why I love Irrationality the Noun. Irrationality the Noun stands for that weird idea in life that makes it okay for life not to make sense all the time. Irrationality the Noun is a concept that we can apply to complexities that transcend science. It is a fallback for all of the times that life doesn’t make sense.

Irrationally the Adverb, though, is different. Irrationally the Adverb is inherent in our actions; it is internal rather than external. It describes thing that we do rather than things that simply happen. The absurd things in life can often be chalked up to irrationality, but only we as humans can do things irrationally.

(Words are pretty cool, right?)

In that sense, doing things irrationally is even more absurd than simple irrationality, because aside from hypnosis and all of Freud’s theories about the unconscious, we know what we are doing. Usually. They’re not just things that happen in the world that we have no control over. We are aware of our actions and we take ownership of them, and yet we still do them irrationally. Or at least, I do.

If you were really into psychology, you could probably argue that nothing we do is really irrational, and try to explain all of our actions based on the deep dark secrets of our minds and childhoods, but then again, you couldn’t really prove it because, um, psychology. Yeah. So until you figure out how to decode people’s brains, I am free to say that a lot of the things that I do are done irrationally. I buy things irrationally (remember my romanticist theory where I have to buy things because they simply go together…). I spend way too much time watching stupid YouTube videos irrationally. I check Aeries irrationally. I pick obsessions irrationally. I even apply to colleges irrationally (because cowboys and horses. I suppose technically, that’s a reason, but seriously. Cowboys and horses.).

Maybe none of those things are really irrational, but I do them instinctively and without actually thinking out any logical progression of reason. They are based on these inherent pieces of pseudo-knowledge that this is what I should do, without regard for whether or not they really make sense.

We are quick to point out irrationality in the world around us, but the truth is that irrationality is embedded within us, too, driving us to do things irrationally.

Here’s the thing though: I do most things irrationally because that’s the way I choose to do them. If I really wanted to, I could sit down and use my logical prowess to figure out what I should do, and then do them rationally. I think the fact that we, or at least I, choose to do things irrationally when we have the choice to do them rationally, is both necessary for the world to be as cool as it is, and also indisputably stupid. But that’s beside the point.

I do most things irrationally because I want to, but I love irrationally because that’s the only way to love.

That may go down in the record books as one of the cheesiest things that I’ve ever written (which is saying something, considering the fact that in the 8th grade, I once wrote that “I am a newborn hamster, opening my eyes up to the world.” Yeah. It happened), but I really believe that it’s true. I really want to believe that it’s true.

I’m not a huge movie-watcher, but I have seen my share of sappy movies and one of the main recurring ideas is that one of the characters, either explicitly or implicitly, says that they’re irrationally in love with someone. It doesn’t even have to be a romantic thing. In those equally sappy family movies, they always end up realizing that they love each other unconditionally, and therefore irrationally because to love anyone or anything unconditionally is probably the most irrational thing that you can do. But anyway, you don’t often see characters thinking about a logical and concrete reason that they love someone. If they do list the reasons, it’s usually crazy things like “I love you because of the way your nose crinkles up when you smile.” I’m not sure where I stole that from but I am absolutely certain that was spoken in one movie or another.  I don’t know about you, but that sounds pretty irrational to me. Not wrong or stupid at all, but totally irrational. Reasons don’t make something rational if the reasons are irrational.

And because Gatsby has to show up in at least every other blog, Gatsby loving Daisy was probably the most idiotic and adorably irrational thing that anyone in the world has ever done. And we all know how much I love Mr. Jay Gatsby. He is a not-so-living example of the fact that to say you love someone irrationally is a redundant statement because irrationality is inherent in love.

I’m not saying that there aren’t perfectly logical and solid reasons to love someone. There are plenty. But the thing is, once that love exists, the reasons, if there are any at all, don’t even matter. Because I believe in love by the transitive property. If you know that a equals c, no one cares that you had to use a equals b and b equals c to get there. The fact simply exists that a equals c. Similarly, when love exists, reasons are not relevant, which pretty much seems like the definition of irrationality to me. Unless you really take time to think about it, you don’t spend a lot of time dwelling on why you’re in love; you simply know that you are.*

*I think. I hope. Please don’t forget that I’m a romanticist, and in reality, none of this may be true. But it sure would be nice if it were.

One thought on “Why I Love Irrationally

  1. I love the idea that we choose to do things irrationally. It totally goes against everything that we like to think about ourselves, ’cause we’re supposed to be logical and careful and deliberate and all that stuff, but the truth is that if you want to buy another pink pen you are probably going to buy another pink pen. And saying that love works like the transitive property is awesome, because believing that love simply is is a huge part of what makes romanticism so special. It’s kind of weird that the transitive property is this logical concept that you can apply to something as irrational as love.
    Also calling Gatsby a not-so-living example of the inherent irrationality of love made me laugh because Gatsby is adorable. And then I felt guilty because it wasn’t actually funny.

Leave a Reply

