Breakfast and its Role in Everyday Optimism

There are a lot of hippies out there who say that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. I think that’s super cheesy, but I also think that it’s true. I kind of wonder how much truth gets lost in the stigma of cheesy.

But that’s beside the point. I really just wanted to talk about breakfast.

I am one of those people who eats breakfast every morning. I admit that half of it is purely functional: even if I’m not hungry at all in the morning, there is a 300% guarantee that if I don’t eat breakfast, I will be starving the minute first period starts. Sometimes I eat breakfast and am hungry by the time first period starts anyway.

So I eat breakfast because it makes me not hungry, which is a pretty good reason to eat breakfast, but to me, breakfast is even more important than that. Sometimes, I don’t really want to get out of bed (read: all the time), but then I think about what I’m going to eat for breakfast and suddenly, getting up doesn’t seem all that bad. This is especially helpful on weekdays, but it works on weekends, too:  I can hear the crunch of a bag of bagels from a mile away and will literally come running down the stairs to eat bagels. If you like food – which seriously, who doesn’t, because I like food not even a quarter of as much as the average dude, and I still like food – breakfast is like the guaranteed first good thing about your day.

Maybe that’s a little bit absurd, but if you really think about it, there are not all that many guaranteed good things in a day. There are things that are likely, and there are things that happen unexpectedly (those are the best things), but because of the inherent mean-ness of reality, it’s hard to count on good things happening. If you’re really unlucky, you might not have any good things happen for who knows how long. But by eating breakfast, you are basically cashing in on a given. You know, like all those cheesy cereal commercials that tell you to start your day right. If you didn’t already notice, I am kind of obsessed with bagels so whenever I start my day with eating a bagel, I know I am starting my day right. Which is never a bad thing.

That’s a lot of optimism riding on a single little meal, but I feel like in a way, that’s the definition of optimism. Optimism isn’t being happy about the things in life that are actually awesome, because that’s not really a talent. Everyone is happy about awesome things. Optimism isn’t just making the best out of bad situations, either, though that is important. But everyday optimism isn’t about really good things or really bad things. Everyday optimism is about taking random little things that are neither good nor bad, and then making them into really good things. Everyday optimism is about making each random little thing in your life into a good thing, thus making your day a good day, in whole-greater-than-parts fashion. And breakfast is the first component of that equation.

I admit that I’m guilty of not really viewing breakfast is such high regards at 6:30 in the morning. Because that’s hard. But what I’ve noticed is that when I have one of my favorite breakfasts, like blueberry muffins or cinnamon bread or yes, bagels, and I really take time to think about how this is the best breakfast ever, it suddenly becomes even better. That’s the other thing about optimism: it’s totally psychological. Some people (cough, pessimists), might say that that’s the crucial flaw in optimism: it’s all in your head. But if you were an optimist, you might say that that’s the best thing about optimism: it’s all in YOUR head. It’s not up to anyone else, and thankfully, it’s not up to the world. You choose optimism, and you choose to give breakfast its value by regarding it as valuable.

In fact, you might say that everything in this world is only given power by ourselves. That’s a dangerous power, and also an amazing one if we choose to distribute our power wisely. I choose optimism, and I start by eating breakfast every morning.

One thought on “Breakfast and its Role in Everyday Optimism

  1. Omg bagels. Breakfast food is so good and it’s really kind of weird that most people skip out on something so delicious.

    I love the idea of everyday optimism. It’s like saying that we have to power to choose, to a certain extent, to be happy, and part of what makes being human so cool is that we have that kind of power to make choices. And then pointing out that optimism is a psychological thing made it like 1039847 times cooler because we get to choose. Literally. Like, not figuratively.

Leave a Reply

